Admin

Science

Scope and Sequence

Our Philosophy

 

The Science Department at Hereford High School looks to promote a scientific world view within our students.  This worldview includes asking questions about the world and then examining them using scientific processes to gather information and evidence.  We then teach the students to examine evidence to develop conclusions that are logical and supported by the data and evidence collected.  We support healthy skepticism amongst our students as they examine claims about the natural and physical world.  We do this by placing students into student-centered and engaging learning experiences that are both exciting and engaging.  We offer courses for students that are curious about science but may not want to make it a life-long endeavor and highly academic classes for students that know they want to be scientists.

 

Our story

 

The Science Department at Hereford High has just begun to realize the full capabilities of our new 55 million dollar science wing.  We seek to use the first class facilities as a spring board to inspire and engage our students into realizing the power of a scientific mind-set.  We have a rich tradition of graduating students that become top level scientists, engineers, doctors, and researchers.  We look to grow these numbers by providing a rigorous course load offering Advanced Placement courses in Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Environmental Science.  We also offer elective courses in Astronomy, Forensics, Biotechnology, and Anatomy and Physiology.  Lastly we continue to offer core level courses in Earth Systems, Life Systems, Integrated Physics and Chemistry, Chemistry and Physics. Like scientists we seek to present a multidisciplinary approach to learning through scientific processes and not confine our students to one particular discipline within the field.  We aim to engage our students in both laboratory and outdoor experiences to enrich the conceptual learning and give it real world context.  We are fortunate to have amongst our department experts in the field of Physics, Chemistry, Biology, and Environmental Science. 

 

“Science is more than a body of knowledge. It is a way of thinking; a way of skeptically interrogating the universe with a fine understanding of human fallibility.

If we are not able to ask skeptical questions, to interrogate those who tell us that something is true, to be skeptical of those in authority, then, we are up for grabs for the next charlatan (political or religious) who comes rambling along.”  Carl Sagan

 

Contacts

Contacts:

jbibaud@bcps.org

Jean-Paul Bibaud-Dept. Chair

amikalauskas@bcps.org

A. Jobe Mikalauskas-APES,Agriscience

rdrylie@bcps.org

Russ Drylie-APES, Earth Systems

mholmead@bcps.org

Mary Holmead-Anatomy and Physiology, Earth Systems

tkeller2@bcps.org

Tom Keller-AP Biology, Biotechnology, Chemistry

dleathers@bcps.org

Debra Leathers-Earth Systems, Forensics

jfoster2@bcps.org

Jay Foster-Chemistry

cfluharty@bcps.org

Charlie Fluharty-AP Chemistry, Chemistry

jsmith10@bcps.org

Jeremy Smith-AP Physics C, Physics

bduvall@bcps.org

Brad Duvall- AP Physics 1, Physics