SAT Information

As you know, Baltimore County schools are dedicated to providing a rigorous instructional program so that every student will become a globally competitive citizen. In order to support your child’s future plans and to ensure that your child is college and career ready, Hereford High School has instituted several initiatives.

 

Hereford’s instructional goal is to provide rigorous reading instruction across all disciplines. The charge of each instructor is to create a learner centered environment that fosters academic growth and integrates 21st century skills demanded by colleges and businesses.  This school year, our school wide reading initiative will focus on providing opportunities for students to apply close reading skills to critically analyze complex text.  Much like DEAR (drop everything and read), once a month our students will drop everything and work through a complex reading passage.  Regardless of your child’s post high school plans, improving reading comprehension is a skill all students can benefit from. 

 

To further support your student’s success on the SAT, we will provide SAT crunch sessions before each SAT date. Students who are registered to take the SAT will be automatically signed up for these enrichment hour crunch sessions.  The students will receive one day of math instruction and one day of verbal instruction.  See Crunch session dates below.  

 

We thank you in advance for your support of this initiative. We know that by working together we can make every Hereford graduate successful. 

Dates to keep in mind:
 
SAT Day is April 10, 2018 (students in grade 11)

SAT Crunch Sessions 2017-18:  Hereford High School

To support your student’s success on the SAT, we will continue to provide SAT crunch sessions before each SAT date. Students will be invited to attend these enrichment hour crunch sessions if he/she is registered to take that particular SAT but is not concurrently enrolled in SAT Prep. The students will receive one day of math instruction and one day of verbal instruction.

Below is the enrichment crunch session schedule. 

Session 1:

Thursday October 5

Friday October 6

SAT Saturday October 7, 2017

 

Session 4:

Thursday March 8

Friday March 9

SAT Saturday March 10, 2018

 

 

Session 2:

Thursday November 2

Friday November 3

SAT Saturday November 4, 2017

 

Session 5:

Thursday May 3

Friday May 4

SAT Saturday May 5

 

Session 3:

Thursday November 30

Friday December 1

SAT Saturday December 2, 2017

 

Session 6:

Thursday May 31

Friday June 1

SAT Saturday June 2

If you have any questions please contact our SAT Coordinator Mrs. Plunkert (bplunkert@bcps.org)

 

Note – BCPS Junior SAT Day is scheduled for Tuesday April 10, 2018